Printer Friendly Share

Thank you for your interest in the University Associate Program. The University Associate Certified Risk Manager (UACRM) and the University Associate Certified Insurance Counselors (UACIC) designation programs are the only designations created specifically for university students. Many universities including Florida State University, Appalachian State University, and Ball State University have found that these programs have added significant value to their academic program as well as to their students. These programs were developed to be affordable for students of all economic backgrounds, supply them with a competitive edge in the job market and to build upon the information that they are currently being taught, as well as being accommodating to the professor’s current curricula and textbook.

Program Overview

While a program is customized for your curricula, both the UACIC and UACRM designation programs require two separate components.  Credit for one component is earned by passing a National Alliance exam, and the other component is achieved by earning a grade of “C” or better in an approved college course. 

The UACRM Program has two components that generally coincide with one college course.  For the first part, students take a CRM Principles of Risk Management exam.  By passing the exam, students earn credit for CRM Principles of Risk Management.  In some universities this exam is incorporated into the college course and considered in the course grade either as a portion of the grade or an extra credit option.  Other universities offer the exam as optional. 

For the second designation component, students earn credit for one of the remaining four parts of the CRM designation by successfully completing an approved college course. Unfortunately, not all universities fit with the UACRM program. When reviewing college courses, we are looking for how the college course lines up with one of the remaining four CRM courses:

  • Analysis of Risk
  • Control of Risk
  • Financing of Risk
  • Practice of Risk Management 

The UACIC Program has a similar format, but the exam and credit components can correspond with any of the five CIC parts:

  • Commercial Casualty
  • Commercial Property
  • Personal Lines
  • Life & Health
  • Agency Management
  • Commercial Multiline
  • Insurance Company Operations (coming in 2017)

The two parts of the UACIC designation may be offered through one college course, or you may select a separate college course for each component. 

Getting Started

Each UA Program is customized to a particular university.  We would be happy to work with you to identify how the UA Program may fit seamlessly into your university curriculum.  To speed up the process you can begin gathering information. 

We are happy to help you with any questions or concerns that you may have. 

Contact us!

Bookstore More Publications

Printer Friendly Share