Whether you are new to your career or a seasoned professional, The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research will guide you toward a thriving career.

For over 50 years, our designations have been regarded throughout the industry as symbols of trust. Our practical insurance and risk management courses are taught by active insurance practitioners, include polices and forms currently used in the field, and guide you through real-world scenarios to give you a deep understanding of what your clients are facing today. The knowledge and skills you develop in any one of our courses or designation programs can be put to use immediately and make your career soar.

CIC Designation Program

The Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) designation is a valuable, well-recognized certification for agents, sales managers, or anyone who works with insurance agents. You can earn this designation by completing five of seven courses within the CIC program and passing the associated exams. You can choose your fifth course from the Certified Risk Manager (CRM) or Certified Personal Risk Manager (CPRM) programs, depending on your professional focus.

Courses are delivered via In-Person Classroom or Instructor-Led Webinars.

CRM Designation Program

The Certified Risk Manager (CRM) Program is a nationally recognized advanced education program for today’s risk management professionals. The CRM courses provide a comprehensive overview of the five steps of risk management—identification of exposures, analysis of risk, risk control techniques, financing of risk, and administration. The CRM designation is perfect for financial and risk management professionals, insurance agents, brokers, underwriters, and agency officers. To earn the CRM designation, you must complete the five CRM courses and pass the corresponding exam for each course. A yearly update is required.  

While there are no specific prerequisites for taking the CRM courses, it is recommended that participants in the program have at least two years of full-time experience in the risk management and insurance industry. 

Courses are delivered via In-Person Classroom or Webinars.   

CISR Designation Program

The Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) designation empowers outstanding individuals to provide exceptional account management and customer service. This practical program includes 9 courses focused on minimizing E&O claims and understanding and analysis of risks and exposures. To earn the CISR designation, you must complete five courses and successfully pass the examination that follows each course within three calendar years following the year in which you pass your first exam. A yearly update is required.  

Courses are delivered via In-Person Classroom, Webinars, or as Self-paced modules.   

CSRM Designation Program

The Certified School Risk Manager (CSRM) designation is known for providing career-building expertise and credibility within school systems. The CSRM designation provides you with an introduction to risk management concepts and practical strategies to identify the types of risks students, faculty, and staff are exposed to everyday. Superintendents, Risk and Safety Managers, School Administrators, and Heads of School are great candidates for this RMI program. To earn this designation, take the five CSRM courses and pass the corresponding exams within three calendar years after you pass your first CSRM exam. A yearly update is required.  

This program is entirely Self-Paced Online. 

CPRM Designation Program

The National Alliance developed the Certified Personal Risk Manager (CPRM) designation with the Council for Insuring Private Clients (CIPC) to create unique curricula that combines risk management, technical information, and account development. The transformative CPRM program is a first-of-its-kind high-level program is supported by carriers across the nation. Agents, brokers and insurance companies working with high-net-worth clients recognize the CPRM designation as the leading credential for professionals providing risk management and insurance services. To earn this designation, take the five CPRM courses and pass the corresponding exams within five calendar years after you pass your first CPRM exam. A yearly update is required. 

Courses are delivered In-Person Classroom or via Instructor-Led Webinars.

Do you need an answer immediately?

Check out our FAQ page!