30th anniversary

Competition Is Closed!

Results announced this fall!

Rules & Rewards


 Please submit a 500 to 1000- word essay on the following topic:

2020 presented major challenges to the insurance industry and every insurance buyer in the country.  As clients re-evaluated their insurance coverages and carriers, agents quickly realized that they couldn’t rely on brand loyalty alone. Agents must also provide near perfect client experiences in order to protect them and keep businesses thriving.

Describe the biggest challenges your agency or company and clients faced this past year and what three service strategies you employed to overcome them and continue delivering incredible experiences to your clients.”

How Does It Work?

*Individuals who nominate the national winner receive a $1000 cash award.

Nominees compete at state level to become one of five finalists. 

History Of The Competition

The Outstanding CSR of the Year competition started in 1991 to honor customer service representatives and account managers who have made significant contributions to the insurance and risk management industry. The competition is sponsored by the Society of Certified Insurance Service Representatives (CISR) and the Society of Certified Insurance Counselors (CIC)—proud member organizations of The National Alliance.

We encourage you to nominate your best customer service representatives and account managers to compete for the Outstanding CSR of the Year award. The competition is open to any insurance customer service representatives or candidates primarily responsible for customer service regardless of affiliation or professional designation. Candidates interested in participating in the competition may also nominate themselves.

2020 National Winner

Play Video

Ms. Judi Vaughn, CIC, CISR is the 
2020 National Outstanding CSR of the Year

Judi Vaughn, CIC, CISR, Account Manager for Kysar Leavitt Insurance Agency, in Farmington, New Mexico, has been awarded the most prestigious honor available to insurance customer service representatives: National Outstanding CSR of the Year.  Ms. Vaughn was selected from a field of 30 state winners.

In her essay, on the topic of changes in technology, the consolidation of agencies, societal influences, and clients’ expectations, Ms. Vaughn mentions that times have changed in the world of insurance.

She insightfully states: “Now, we send emails, post on social media, and air commercials all in hopes to catch a new client. Not only has this change affected business’ strategies, but consumer’s expectations have been altered as well. Our world is ever-changing, so as customer service representatives we must be flexible and knowledgeable enough to provide our clients with the best services.”

Ms. Vaughn receives a cash award of $2,000, a distinctive gold and diamond lapel pin, and her name on a sculpture at The National Alliance headquarters. A National Alliance scholarship will be awarded to her employer, Kysar Leavitt Insurance Agency.

2020 National Finalists

2020 Outstanding CSR of the Year Finalists

Meet this year’s finalists!  Each finalist receives a special gold and garnet pin, a $500 cash award, and publicity in the national trade journal, Rough Notes.

2020 State Winners

2020 Outstanding CSR of the Year State Winners

Meet this year’s State Winners!  Each State Winner receives a framed certificate and national recognition.

Do you need an answer immediately?

Check out our FAQ page!